Skip to content

The most important day in history … diminished.

May 2, 2010

Chronicling “ahaa” moments about Christianity and Adventism is what this blog is about.

So, before I answer the next set of questions I just wanted to comment about an “ahaa” I had this past week.  I have been studying the resurrection of Christ and intrigued with Christ’s resurrection since Easter.  Easter was something I celebrated lavishly this year … with Christian friends, a BIG meal, and a wonderful reading of the resurrection story involving each person at the table.

As an Adventist I had been taught that celebrating Easter was wrong, pagan, and had its roots in  worshiping on Sunday.  Besides wasn’t the “day” of Christ’s resurrection one of the arguments “Sunday” worshipers used to prove the 4th commandment had been changed?

What I understood concerning Christians who worshiped on Sunday was really, really wrong. I thought I knew what they believed when I was a devout Adventist … now having immersed myself in a Bible-believing Evangelical Church – I have found my perceptions and thinking was extremely wrong.

By diminishing Easter or more importantly Christ’s resurrection, Adventists cut the heart out of the gospel.  Read 1 Cor. 15 which is ALL about the resurrection.  Paul says that if Christ wasn’t resurrected our entire faith is in vain!  “And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. (vs.17) Did you get that! If Christ wasn’t resurrected, according to 1 Cor. 15, we would still be in our sins!

No other religion has a resurrected diety – other than Christianity.  This is one of the reasons why Christians are so “gung-ho” on the resurrection and celebrating Easter  … It has absolutely nothing to do with Sunday worship (I have never even heard “Sunday” mentioned), but everything to do with the miracle of a risen Lord, the King of Kings, Jesus Christ.  The resurrection proves Jesus was Who He said He was, God Almighty.  It also proves, according to 1 Cor. 15, that someday believers in Jesus Christ will be bodily resurrected, too.

And many of the born-again Christians I talk to say “Sunday” is not important.  They can worship on Wednesday, or Thursday, or … It isn’t about a day, it is about Jesus Christ paying the debt for our sin, dying in our place, and being resurrected as the “first fruit”.

What is important to you about the resurrection?  Have I characterized Adventists incorrectly when I say they diminish Easter Sunday?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

