Skip to content

Part III: Q & A

May 12, 2010

6.  How has your relationship with Christ changed as you transitioned out of Adventism?

My friend asked me to address this question and what a great question it is!

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2He was in the beginning with God. 3All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.  (John 1:1-5; ESV)

First off, I thought I knew who Jesus was as an Adventist.  Now that I have immersed myself in scripture and scripture only … The Jesus I  knew as an Adventist is not the Jesus I now understand.  The phrase, “Son of God” had different meanings when I was an Adventist then they do now.

In Adventism I saw Jesus more like a “brother”.  He was my Example to follow – He upheld the law and so could I with the help of the Holy Spirit.

In Adventism, my relationship with Jesus was always strained, because I knew I could never measure up … I could never be “perfect” or keep the law “perfectly” like He did.  Jesus was Big – but not Sovereign.

Adventism teaches that Jesus was “elevated” and invited into the decision making of God the Father in creating earth.   Satan was “next to” Christ – implied on the same level as Christ, before Christ was declared to be brought into the Father’s “purposes” (Early Writings pg. 145; Patriarchs and Prophets pg. 35).

NOW:

Oh, my, now …  Jesus is fully God – always has been, always will be.  There is no elevating Him to the position of “Son of God”.   … Jesus, the third person of the trinity, is fully God (in His very essence).

My relationship with Him is incredibly intimate (He is in me – and I am in Him).  Even though it is intimate I also am aware that I am clay and He is God. God’s grace is so much more intense and amazing to me, now.  I never understood it as an Adventist, because Adventists do not believe in original sin.  Original sin means we are born dead to God – not even seeking Him (Rom. 3).  God seeks us and brings us from spiritual deadness to spiritual life and places His Holy Spirit in us – Scripture teaches we are born “dead to God” (Eph. 2:1-8).  Even faith to believe in Jesus is a gift according to Ephesians 2.

The sovereignty of God was something I never “heard” or understood as an Adventist.  Jesus’ Sovereignty means His purposes WILL be carried out.  HE’S God …

Jesus upholds the universe by His power (Heb. 1:3).

This is SO big it is going to take me months to articulate it 🙂  …

_____________________________________________________________________

Quotes used above:

“Satan was once an honored angel in heaven, next to Christ.” Early Writings by Ellen White.

Also, Ellen White says in Patriarchs and Prophets, pg. 35 “Sin originated with him who, next to Christ, had been most honored of God and was highest in power and glory among the inhabitants of heaven. Lucifer, “son of the morning,” was first of the covering cherubs, holy and undefiled.” And on pg. 36, she writes, “Before the assembled inhabitants of heaven, the king declared that none but Christ, the only begotten of God, could fully enter into his purposes, and to him was committed to execute the mighty counsels of his will.”

The seminary at Andrews University teaches that Jesus is “Michael the archangel”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:14 pm

    Hi, Keri!
    I’m glad I found your blog. Your comment about the Sovereignty of Christ: ” Sovereignty means His purposes WILL be carried out.” made me think of one of my favorite texts in 2 Corinthians.

    “But thanks be to God, who ALWAYS leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. To the one we are the smell of death, to the other, the fragrance of life.” 2 Corinthians 2: 14-16

    Thanks so much for sharing your journey,
    Lori

    • May 13, 2010 10:09 pm

      Lori,
      Thanks for the affirmation! This idea of Sovereignty is something that continues to grow for me. I know that He is in control of ALL that comes my direction. I don’t fully understand it all – but, my, oh, my it is such a comfort to know that this amazing, King of Kings, and Lord of Lords, Who gave His life to pay my debt of sin is in “control” of my life and the struggles I face.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Keri

Leave a Reply

