Skip to content

Hard Decisions

June 22, 2010

I am in the midst of making a hard decision.  It sneaks into my mind often … I will be glad when the decision is made and action is taken on it …

Ever had a difficult decision to make?  How do you make them?  What is it like when difficult ramifications will follow no matter which way you decide.

In the midst of things like “hard decisions” I’m glad to know God’s Sovereignty.  I’m glad that I can lean on the fact that He is the Ancient of Days, the Alpha and Omega, the …

Let me digress for just a moment …

The decision to leave Adventism is the hardest decision I have ever made.  I remember telling a friend at the beginning of my Biblical quest that I was going through a hard time and it would take months – possibly years … The friend was SDA and did not know what I was referring to, because that is all I said.

At the beginning of this journey out of Adventism the stress was extreme … I would stay up until 2 or 3 in the morning reading scripture, cross-referencing, praying, agonizing … I begged God for truth … Infact, the stress was so high my body reacted by getting a medical condition that I have to this day … a skin condition that won’t go away … I read a book where high stress will do that …

So when well-meaning friends who just can’t understand that my decision to leave Adventism was extremely hard … say things like … “Oh, she was ‘wronged’ and that is why she left” or “she was deeply hurt by someone in Adventism and that is why she left” or “she didn’t get the job she wanted in Adventism and so left” or my favorite, “She just wanted to wear jewlry and didn’t like the rule-keeping of the Sabbath” (yes, I went through such high stress so I could wear jewlry – give me a break!!!)

I often want to respond with volume … “It isn’t about being hurt, nor …. etc. … I spent MONTHS studying, researching, agonizing, praying, and found that the doctrines of the Adventist Church are based on ‘proof-texts’ taken out of Biblical context and twisted, and SDA doctrines are intrinsically influenced by Ellen White, Adventism’s prophetess, who has Biblical authority in their doctrinal statements – ie. SDA Doctrinal Statement:  “She is a continuing source of truth, etc ….. ” Or the fact that Adventism teaches the atonement wasn’t fully completed at the cross (Investigative Judgment) or that the bottom line in Adventism is that salvation is ‘Jesus plus works’ … because you can “lose” your salvation by what you do.  Ellen White says you should never say you are “saved”.  Or the seal of God in Adventism is the Sabbath when scripture clearly teaches it is the Holy Spirit …

Hard decisions … but that hard decision to leave Adventism and seek a more Biblically based community was the best “hard decision” I have made.  Why?  Because God and Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit are totally different for me and I know with assurance my salvation is secure in Jesus Christ … my life is difficult at times, but the Holy Spirit that is living in me continues to comfort me and point me back to God’s Sovereignty and one day … I will join those in the faith chapter – who when going through difficulty looked forward to a city – who’s foundation was/is God.

What is your foundation for “hard decisions”?

Comments are closed.

