Skip to content

Storms …

July 5, 2010

Approaching Storm

Have you experienced a storm lately?  I have … a series of them.  One storm, a week or so ago, knocked out power to several communities.  I was at someone’s home when it hit.  The electricity went dim, bright, dim … the trees nearly bent in half.  The rain pelting the windows literally felt more like a bucket of water had been turned upside down.  After the storm I drove home through country roads and saw limbs, leaves and damage everywhere.  I came down one road and a fire truck was stopped men removed a huge, huge limb from the middle of the road.  The firemen warned me that a wire lay across the road, but it wasn’t live.  Arriving at home I found many trees had lost their limbs …

The next day a friend called her electricity had been knocked out and she was on call.  She wondered if she could come over to my home and charge her cell phone.  I invited her to not only come over and charge her cell phone, but stay overnight and use whatever she needed.  For her the storm was an adventure … a reminder of her time in a third world country as a missionary doctor – without electricity, … etc.  She almost seemed excited about the whole thing – because it reminded her of the special time she had had in a country without much.

Scripture states:

1 Peter 1:3-9 (NIV)  3Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade—kept in heaven for you, 5who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. 6In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. 7These have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 8Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

Storms leave an aftermath ...

Rejoice …. I never fully understood rejoicing during storms or their aftermaths as an Adventist.  I knew I was supposed to … but I couldn’t quite fully wrap my mind around it.  And then … I became born-again … and I began to understand at a deeper level …

1 Peter states that we rejoice in trials and aftermaths  … and our “joy” is that we are saved and can fully know it.  I didn’t know if I was saved as a Seventh-day Adventist, because for one thing we were we were never to say we were saved (according to E.G. White – “a continuing authoritative source of truth”).  Based on 1 John 5:11-13 we are told we CAN “know” we are saved, because salvation is given, maintained, and sealed by God Himself.  If salvation had anything to do with us – none of us would be saved.  So I know I am saved, because I have repented of my pride and arrogance of thinking I had anything to do with my salvation and received Jesus VERY free gift.  Salvation is based on Jesus – not on me – that is how I can know I’m saved.  This isn’t a boast in pride, but a gratefulness of grace.

Storms … aftermaths … they will come …. I’ve had my share this year … how about you?  Do you have that joy that is deeper than your circumstances?  Do you have that peace that supersedes your trials?  If not … ask the one who rides the storms with us to enter your boat … repent and receive the Lord Jesus Christ into your life and make Him the master of your yesterdays, todays, and tomorrows.  It IS worth it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 10:41 pm

    You will be surprised that it is not only Adventist who are in error today. I am a former Presbyterian-and yes I am still 5 pointer Sovereign Grace adherent-but trough the ministries of LAM and even the new Worldwide Church of G0d-I got rid of my dependence on OT Laws of Sabbath, Civil Laws and Tithing. I am no longer a Christian Reconstructionist. And we are now being misunderstood by our former friends and churchmates. Freedom in Christ is hard to swallow for one’s heart filled with prdie of their good works and nomism. I fear that Revival and reformation is still far in the future. We jsut have to sow seeds for now.

Leave a Reply

