Skip to content

Abortion – Where do you stand?

July 10, 2010

Recently, I had a conversation with a “never-been” SDA and the topic of abortion came up. I shared with her that Seventh-day Adventists do not have an official stance or understanding of abortion.  Also, I spoke about SDA doctors who perform abortions.  It is known that a prominent wealthy SDA owns several abortion clinics.

If anyone is reading this who has had an abortion or encouraged someone to have an abortion – I would like to say … There is forgiveness, healing, and love for you.  As we repent of our sin (and abortion is a sin) – God is faithful and just to forgive us of our sin and to purify us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:9).

Seventh-day Adventists love to claim that they are people of scripture.  How is it then that they miss the following scriptures concerning the “unborn”?

5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I set you apart;
I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” (Jer. 1:5; NIV)

God is talking to Jeremiah the prophet … He tells Jeremiah that before he was even in His mother’s womb He knew Jeremiah … that before Jeremiah was “birthed” God had set him apart for a special work.

23 The LORD said to her,
“Two nations are in your womb,
and two peoples from within you will be separated;
one people will be stronger than the other,
and the older will serve the younger.” (Gen. 25:23; NIV)

Here The LORD is telling Rebekah about the sons in her womb and what will happen AFTER their birth.  Indeed, God knows the embryo and life that is developing in a woman’s womb for it is He who gives life.

Look how scripture declares that the Lord “closed” up the womb … meaning He did not give life …

18 for the LORD had closed up every womb in Abimelech’s household because of Abraham’s wife Sarah. (Gen. 20:18; NIV)

15 Did not he who made me in the womb make them?
Did not the same one form us both within our mothers? (Job 31:15; NIV)

God is the one that gives life and scripture declares that that life begins in the womb.

Please don’t misunderstand me … I am not trying to be trite or uncaring or insensitive to the plight of women that are raped … or find themselves as teenagers pregnant with ultimatums of being kicked out of their homes … or any number of difficult situations.

Yet, I can’t deny scripture either … God gives life, He forms us in the womb, He “knows” us before we are even an embryo, and He choose us before the foundation of the world.

Let me share a personal experience … Many years ago a woman came to me with the story of aborting a baby.  She was pregnant out of wedlock … she felt incredibly guilty … At that time I was an SDA and really didn’t know how to help her in her guilt.  I talked about God’s love and that God would not want her to be wallowing in guilt.  I left her home – knowing and seeing in her eyes that even though we had prayed together and talked – she still felt guilty.

I wonder if her eyes might have looked differently when I left if I had encouraged her to repent of the sin of abortion … that if I had identified it correctly and we had prayed together; confessing it as sin, asking for forgiveness, and talking about God’s forgiveneness … if this woman’s eyes might have looked differently – that maybe they would have reflected a peace of being forgiven, because she would have declared what she had done as sin.

I, have had to repent of my former understanding of abortion … it was never an issue for me … I figured women had the right to do with their bodies what they wanted.  And in my mind life began at birth when I was an SDA.  I was wrong as an Adventist … not taking God at His Word … that it is He who gives life to the womb.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 8:51 pm

    Hi Carolyn/Keri,

    Thank you for blogging on this sensitive topic. I was a strong Pro-lifer even while an SDA (although until more recently I did not understand about the human spirit), so when I read Teresa & Arthur Beem’s exit letter (from the SDA Church) about three years ago, I was horrified to learn the degree to which some SDA hospitals perform abortions. Even though my husband was employed by the denomination for another two years, I said we would never pay another tithe check to the SDA Church–and we never did!

    Later, I was appalled to learn about SDA abortionist, Dr. Edward Allred’s contributions to Monterey Bay Academy’s library renovation project. Apparently, when he retired, he sold his very large abortion clinic chain to another SDA businessman. I was amazed as I read more recently (over a year ago) about the private plan crash that took the lives of “Bud” Feldkamp’s family. This plane that was chartered with money from abortions and it crashed right by a monument “the the unborn” at a Catholic cemetery. The irony was not lost on me. I am sad for the lives lost in this accident, and pray the deaths of Feldkamp’s daughters, sons-in-law, and grandchildren, plus the others on the plane, will not be in vain. http://www.christiannewswire.com/news/646579835.html

    I also pray that the SDA Church leadership will allow the Holy Spirit to replace their hearts of stone with hearts of flesh and that they will stop performing abortions at their larger hospitals and stop taking money made from SDA abortionists. How is it okay to commit murder of unborn, helpless babies, but it’ll cost you your salvation if you don’t keep the Sabbath? Lord, open their eyes!!!!

    • July 23, 2010 1:07 pm

      Jennifer,
      Thank you so much for your comment and input! I’m sorry it has taken me so long to reply or comment back. I’ve been caught up in decisions with my diminishing dog and it seemed like everything else went by the wayside.

      So thank you for following this blog and for your insightful comment. I agree with your pray – open their eyes Lord.

      Praying for your ministry as you reach out to others with the gospel.

      Love,
      Carolyn

  2. July 14, 2010 8:56 pm

    Here’s the link to MBA’s article about Dr. Allred’s 2006 donation to the school’s library renovation. http://www.montereybayacademy.org/news/archive/library2006.html

  3. July 22, 2010 7:46 am

    Keri, thank you for this blog! You’ve touched on several profound points. First, the fact that abortion is murder is jolting to most Adventists, but I absolutely could not see the problem with it as an Adventist. Not until I understood that the essence of ourselves is an immaterial spirit that survives the death of the body did abortion really come into focus. The unborn are as much human as are the born. John the Baptist, after all, was filled with the Holy Spirit in Elizabeth’s womb and leaped when Mary entered the room.

    Second, you’ve brought up the subject of repentance. I am convinced that saving faith, true belief in Jesus’ sacrifice for us, is inseparable from an “owning” of our depravity, our inability to avoid sin even by praying. We are by nature objects of wrath (Eph 2:3), and we cannot avoid sin, no matter how deeply we commit to righteousness. We will be unable to distinguish between truth and deception unless we are born again. We can’t “believe” in Jesus with saving faith unless we admit the truth about ourselves.

    We are utterly sinful, whether we are actively sinning or not. Until we admit our sin, we can’t receive Jesus’ healing and forgiveness for our hearts. At Pentecost, the Jews hearing Peter were deeply convicted and asked what they should do after Peter finished his sermon in Acts 2. His response was that they should repent and be baptized.

    I believe you are right; no one can receive peace or relief from guilt unless they first admit their sin. We have to repent even for our sins of ignorance as God brings them to mind. Even if we are sinned against as passive victims, we still have to repent of the sin that touches our lives because of the fallout of the sins done to us by others.

    Thank you for having the courage to be so bold and kind in your blog.

    God is faithful. Utterly.
    Colleen

Leave a Reply

