Skip to content

Telling the Truth in Love

August 10, 2010

I have decided that “telling the truth in love” does not mean that the person you are telling will see truth or feel loved.  Ultimately, it is a heart issue – the one doing the telling and the one receiving.

I had never seen this in scripture before … it is very interesting …

14Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. 15Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ. 16From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.”  (Eph. 4; NIV)

This whole chapter is quite amazing to me …

I have felt saddened that my speaking the truth in love about Adventism has been seen as either untruthful or unloving.  May I share a visual example …

A small child, deeply loved by his mother begins to run out into the street to fetch a wayward ball.  The mother who has the gift of “eyes behind her head” sees an oncoming car and cries out, “A car!”  She has spoken in love and her tone has been urgent.  The urgent tone comes from her heart of love.   What will happen if the child continues to run out into the street disregarding the “truth in love”?  The child could be hurt or even killed.  What of the mother? … What happens to her after she speaks the truth in love?  And what if the child is hurt? … How will the mother feel?  She did what was right – yet, she, too, will suffer the consequences of the child’s disregard for truth in love.

I deeply care for Seventh-day Adventists.  I have spoken the truth in love from His WORD regarding the differences between Adventism and the Bible.  Shall I say, I have a mother’s heart for those still caught in unBiblical teaching … my heart grieves, because I care that deeply …

Yet, what I say is often taken from Adventists as “Why are you picking on us!”  We are Christians, too.  And so once again I share the gospel in hopes that eyes will be open and see the oncoming car … To trust in Adventism, or the Sabbath, or one’s actions for salvation is to deny Christ.  The scriptures are clear – salvation is placing one’s trust in Christ and Him alone (1 John 5:11-13; John 5:24; Rom. 10:9).

The car is coming will the child “hear” and “obey” … or will both mother and child be grieved?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. verna permalink
    August 10, 2010 12:11 pm

    Don’t stop if this is what God is leading you to do. Sometimes those who need to hear it also need time to process it as well. Think about how long God has been loving us and how long we have been ignoring Him. Your messages are getting through. Give the Holy Spirit time to work. Much more to say, but just wanted to leave you an encouraging word.

    • August 10, 2010 3:07 pm

      Thank you so much for the encouragement!!! God is indeed patient and kind … The incarnation of God, Almighty, coming as a human baby to pay my debt of sin … to die for me, so that I might be made alive to God once again … that He was raised from the dead thus conquering death for us. It causes my heart to soar and that Spirit of God living in me desires others to be set free from the bondage of sin …

  2. lisa permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:12 am

    Thank you, the Lord led me to this post at this moment. My husband is SDA, his pator was over becouse my husband wants to be baptised but is unshure of the oaths he will have to take, for instance, obstaining from unclean meats. For 3 hours I listened to this pastor tell us that eating meat is part of the moral law even when I quoted Galations.
    I feel this pastor is a down right liar to twist scripture like he does. When I asked why Paul didn’t tell the gentiles they had to keep the sabbath, or not to eat these meats, he said he didn’t have to, these gentiles were around the jews long enough and knew their customs. I am so angry at his deciet and expecting me to believe these lame answers. When the truth of the matter is he has to pull out an EGW book to prove his case. Please pray for my husband, even though he is unsure of some of the doctrin, he just believes what these people tell him. I need to tell him the truth in love. Thank you

    • August 18, 2010 10:16 am

      I’m glad this post was an encouragement to you … Yes, I will pray … I would recommend that you pray a hedge of protection around your husband, i.e. protect him from unBiblical teaching, protect him spiritually, and that whatever is “drawing” him to be baptized in the SDA Church will be severed. This is a spiritual battle and Christ will be with you as you fight it. I will pray that you tell him the truth in love.

      Blessings,
      Keri

  3. Lisa permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:15 pm

    Hi Kerri,
    I just have a quick question, could I be causing my husband to stumble if he sees me not keeping the sabbath as according to Romans 14? Or if I tell him (in love of course)how he is crusifying Jesus all over again if he keeps these rules.I always want to walk in love in this matter but, I do not want to let him think it is ok either. I hate his church, but I go, at least we are worshipping together on some level. He will not go to mine, even on Thursday night.
    Thank you for all your help and prayers,
    Lisa

    • August 19, 2010 9:58 am

      Lisa,
      To be honest I don’t know what to tell you. My recommendation is to go to God … become quiet before Him with your Bible open and seek His wisdom in regards to what you should do.

      I do not believe the Rom. 14 passage applies in your context.

      I have a friend who is married to an SDA. She has tried all kinds of things … trying to keep Sabbath “for her husband” to win him over … disagreeing with him …. everything … It truly is a spiritual battle.

      For me … I think we often give in to “love” and leave truth behind. It is much easier to “love” than stand up for truth and face the repercussions of doing so. Should you point out to your husband that he is crucifying Christ all over again … I don’t see that it would hurt if you shared with him scripturally where Adventism differs.

      Infact, you may want to ask him if you both can read from scripture together every day … You may want to start reading “together” the book of Galatians … and then discussing it afterwards … Do you know if your husband has received Christ into His heart?

  4. Lisa permalink
    August 18, 2010 8:00 pm

    Kerri,
    I am sorry to post this question here, the comments are closed under The Word:….blog. Anywho, after reading that blog, is it safe to say that adventists only believe certain scripture is inspired, and other parts were the thoughts of the man writing it? As I said, when talking to the pastor, he kept saying the bible was translated wrong. If that is the belief, how do I ask him this question so he actualy comes out and says it and don’t twist things?
    Thank you again, you are a blessing

    • August 19, 2010 10:06 am

      Lisa,
      If you scroll through the blog posts I did post something in regards to how Adventists view scripture (sorry, don’t have easy access to where it is now 🙂 ) … Adventists see scripture as “thought” inspired. In other words scripture is not “God-breathed”, but filtered through the sinful writers. It is hard to explain, because it is very deceitful. I totally disagree with this pastor … that the Bible was translated wrong … 2 Timothy tells us that ALL of scripture is God-breathed. Scripture is life-giving. It is often called the “living word”. As I have studied the way scripture was passed to us through the eras … it is amazing the accuracy the scribes used …

      If I don’t believe in the inerrancy of scripture than I can take scripture and twist it to meet my “needed” understanding. This is what Adventism does. Instead, we need to see scripture as without error and then form our minds and actions to what we are reading …

      Lisa, I am praying for you …
      Thanks so much for sharing,
      Keri

  5. lisa permalink
    August 19, 2010 5:37 pm

    Hey Kerri,
    You are a blessing to take the time with me. The Lord has realy been giving me the boldness to speak the truth in love. He has acepted the Lord into his heart, but I don’t think he has assurance of his salvation. I keep trying to drive that home with him, but he’s so under the works mentality, and he will not study scripture out for himself, he asks the pastor when he has a question and just believes what ever he says.
    Again, thank you for all your help and prayers

Leave a Reply

