Skip to content

If God is Good … Losses …

August 23, 2010

JESUS WEPT (John 11:35)

We’ve all heard the “shortest verse of the Bible”.  I just reread it and the verses around it …  Before this famous phrase are these words, “When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come along with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in spirit and troubled.”  Jesus then asked, “Where have you laid him?” – referring to Lazarus … they told Him … and then He wept.

We aren’t told what Jesus’ tears meant … except that He was deeply moved in spirit and troubled as He saw the Jews and Mary weeping.

Another time that Jesus was deeply moved is found in Luke 19:41-44. Jesus was overlooking Jerusalem and weeping … He said, “If you, only you had known what would bring you peace ….”  and then He prophesied Jerusalem’s destruction …

I know my thoughts seem  a little random here … but follow me to the cross where Jesus, again, is deeply moved … His words, “My God, My God! Why have you forsaken me!” (Matthew 27:46) …

LOSSES … Christ understands loss at the deepest possible level … How? … At the cross His 100% human nature understood total separation from God.   Literally, God was rent at the cross – His humanness experienced the loss that is ours rightfully to endure – total separation from God.  We are born  dead to God and the things of God.  Romans 3 says – No one seeks God.  Yet, Christ experienced our loss – so that we might not be eternally separated from God.

To never be separated from God eternally we must receive Christ into our hearts (1John 5:11-13) – confessing our utter helplessness, our sinfulness, our pride …

Losses … I have not met anyone who hasn’t experienced loss … loss of finances, loss of family, loss of friends, loss of health, loss of spouse, loss of children, loss of job … What is your loss?

Yesterday, I watched, “Letters to God” and was reminded of loss … yet, loss can be turned into gain – just like it was at the cross … loss can be a way of glorifying the Lord … At the cross, the greatest loss was experienced … And at the cross Jesus was glorified.

Losses … sometimes we keep them hidden – because in darkness we think we won’t experience them as painfully as we might in the light … yet, losses brought out of the dark and into the light are redeemed, purified, and glorified.

If you are like me … losses feel much better hidden and pushed into darkness … and then I am reminded … “Jesus wept”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    April 1, 2011 1:38 pm

    Wow. I came upon your page through an image search and I am very touched by the spiritual truth in this post. I have experienced two miscarriages in the past year and it’s so hard to believe that God is good. But the truth that God is glorified in my weakness is becoming more real to me. Thank you for blessing my heart today!

    • April 14, 2011 10:09 am

      Now, I am the one that is touched. I am SO sorry for your loss. It is heartbreaking. I, too, am learning to trust God in the hard times. I do not understand why certain things happen, but I’m told in scripture that His thoughts are not my thoughts and His ways, not mine. And so He hangs on to me even when I don’t feel Him or see Him or understand what is happening. Blessings and prayer.

  2. Anna King permalink
    November 25, 2011 12:19 am

    My husband & I left the SDA church in 1981–disfellowshipped for not paying tithe. But it really for standing firm for the Gospel. We had hosted Desmond Ford in Albuquerque & paid for it. We are still glad we “left”. We have found wonderful fellowship here in Rio Rancho, NM in Destiny Center Christian Fellowship. Wonders of wonders we became “Care Pastors” and entered into a new stage of ministry we had never known before.

    The journey had it’s loses. Being an SDA means a whole of life, a separate culture, friends only while sharing that church. But we have gained so much! New ministry, new friends, a freedom of worship unknown before, and, of course, a deeper love of God and the Bible.
    We have never looked back.
    Anna King
    Care Pastor
    Destiny Center

Leave a Reply

